Faithful Place

Faithful Place is narrated by Frank Mackey, an undercover Dublin detective whose cynical attitude was shaped in part by his first love's sudden abandonment of him on the night they were planning to run away together.  Twenty-odd years later, her suitcase is discovered in a derelict house on the street where they grew up, and Frank's first heartbreak now looks like murder.

The third installment in the Dublin Murder Squad series, Faithful Place follows In the Woods and The Likeness, and precedes Broken Harbor, The Secret Place, and The Trespasser.

“Places are supposed to look smaller when you go back to them, but my road just looked schizoid.  A couple of the houses had had nifty little makeovers involving double glazing and amusing faux-antique pastel paint; most of them hadn't.  Number 16 looked like it was on its last legs: the roof was in tatters, there was a pile of bricks and a dead wheelbarrow by the front steps, and at some point in the last twenty years someone had set the door on fire.  In Number 8, a window on the first floor was lit up, gold and cozy and dangerous as hell.”  

Tana French has lived in Ireland, Italy, Malawi, and the United States.  Her first novel, In the Woods, won the Edgar Award in 2007 and was followed by several sequels as part of the Dublin Murder Squad series.  In addition to writing, French has worked as a stage, film and voice-over actress.

Published:  2010
401 pages
Set in: 
Dublin, Ireland